Filled With Gratitude With Diana from Rushaway

Filled With Gratitude With Diana from Rushaway

Sometimes, all it takes is a kind-hearted individual to fuel our adventurous hearts 💕

This story is about Diana’s internship experience, and how her host family inspired her to travel and experience her first solo trip ever!

Who knows, maybe you’ll inspire someone else next! ✈️


My travel experience started with a teaching English internship in another part of the world. I finished my university in Moscow, Russia, and one day decided to get a real life experience. A few months later I landed in Colombia. I had no exact idea of this country, I didn’t know the language nor what to expect. I was just filled with hopes.

For the three months of my internship, I lived with a host family. And this is a story about them.

Filled With Gratitude With Diana from Rushaway

Filled With Gratitude With (c) Diana from Rushaway

If not my Colombian mom and brother, I really won’t dare to start my first solo trip ever. Again, in Colombia. They became a real family for me. They introduced me to their region, they shared with me their culture. They made me feel like home and as their own daughter and sister. They showed me how beautiful Colombian soul is, how friendly their nation can be, how rich their history is. I’ve learned so much from them and was confident enough after only three months that I won’t get in trouble with Colombians, that I can do it and explore the country by myself.

My first solo trip lasted for 2 weeks and it was amazing. There are no words to describe it. I still didn’t know Spanish well to communicate, but I got a lot of help along my journey. Of course, nothing can be perfect and I got a rather discouraging experience with some locals once, but I already knew that it was a rough exception rather than a rule.

After I stayed in Latin America for 1.5 years more, because my soul became half Latin! I’m so grateful to my Colombian family for everything they’ve done for me and they are actually the ones who inspired me to travel and made me believe I can do this anywhere!

Now I’m not afraid to travel alone, I got a lot of experience to survive almost everywhere. I’ve also understood that the main purpose for me to travel is to reveal the beauty of our world in all its manifestations and always keep harmony and inner balance. And now I share it now in my Rush Away blog.

Follow more of Diana’s adventures on her Instagram page! 🙂


WHO’S YOUR BIGGEST INSPIRATION?
EMAIL ME YOUR STORY ON PASSPORTBITES@GMAIL.COM 💁🏽
INTERESTED IN CONTRIBUTING? EVERYONE’S WELCOME!
LEARN MORE ABOUT FILLED WITH GRATITUDE – THE SERIES HERE.
I’LL BE FEATURING ONE STORY EVERY SUNDAY ON MY BLOG AND ON INSTAGRAM!
(c) Featured Photo by Enforex.
Leave a Reply

